Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
Fix her up : a novel
2019
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Availability' section below.
Availability
Fiction/Biography Profile
Characters
Travis Ford (Male), Former major league baseball player; starts his own construction business;
Georgette Castle (Female), Sister of Travis friend; has had a crush on Travis for years
Genre
Fiction
Romance
Topics
House renovation
Friendship
Life changes
Love
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  Publishers Weekly Review

Small-town atmosphere permeates bestseller Bailey's comedic contemporary visit to Port Jefferson, N.Y., where outstanding children's birthday clown Georgie Castle reconnects with her lifelong crush, Travis Ford, a former star professional baseball player sidelined by an injury. His despair over the end of his career is fueled by lingering trauma from an unstable childhood. Meanwhile, Georgie, at age 23, is tired of being seen as the pesky little sister whose wants and needs are unimportant; even Travis, a close friend to Georgie's older brother, still sees her as a kid. As Georgie helps Travis out of his pit of misery and into a deeply supportive, protective, and giving relationship, he gets into construction work and makes his way back into the world. Seeing Georgie with new eyes, and appreciating her straightforward, loving honesty, fuels his desire. Meanwhile, Georgie is inspired to seek a new look, expand her business, and bond with other women, especially her big sister. Delightfully intense and creative sex scenes and potent emotions will reward both fans and new readers alike. (June) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
Summary
<p>"Fix Her Up ticks all my romance boxes. Not only is it hilarious, it's sweet, endearing, heartwarming and downright sexy. It's a recipe for the perfect love story." - Helena Hunting, New York Times bestselling author of Meet Cute</p> <p>A steamy, hilarious new romantic comedy from New York Times bestselling author Tessa Bailey, perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Sally Thorne!</p> <p>Georgette Castle's family runs the best home renovation business in town, but she picked balloons instead of blueprints and they haven't taken her seriously since. Frankly, she's over it. Georgie loves planning children's birthday parties and making people laugh, just not at her own expense. She's determined to fix herself up into a Woman of the World... whatever that means.</p> <p>Phase one: new framework for her business (a website from this decade, perhaps?)</p> <p>Phase two: a gut-reno on her wardrobe (fyi, leggings are pants.)</p> <p>Phase three: updates to her exterior (do people still wax?)</p> <p>Phase four: put herself on the market (and stop crushing on Travis Ford!)</p> <p>Living her best life means facing the truth: Georgie hasn't been on a date since, well, ever. Nobody's asking the town clown out for a night of hot sex, that's for sure. Maybe if people think she's having a steamy love affair, they'll acknowledge she's not just the "little sister" who paints faces for a living. And who better to help demolish that image than the resident sports star and tabloid favorite?</p> <p>Travis Ford was major league baseball's hottest rookie when an injury ended his career. Now he's flipping houses to keep busy and trying to forget his glory days. But he can't even cross the street without someone recapping his greatest hits. Or making a joke about his... bat. And then there's Georgie, his best friend's sister, who is not a kid anymore. When she proposes a wild scheme--that they pretend to date, to shock her family and help him land a new job--he agrees. What's the harm? It's not like it's real. But the girl Travis used to tease is now a funny, full-of-life woman and there's nothing fake about how much he wants her...</p>
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1