Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
Mending fences
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Availability' section below.
Author Notes
Suzanne Woods Fisher is an award-winning, bestselling author of more than two dozen novels, including Phoebe's Light , Minding the Light , and The Light Before Day , as well as the Amish Beginnings, The Bishop's Family, and The Inn at Eagle Hill series. She is also the author of several nonfiction books about the Amish, including Amish Peace and The Heart of the Amish . She lives in California. Learn more at and follow Suzanne on Facebook @SuzanneWoodsFisherAuthor and Twitter @suzannewfisher.
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  Publishers Weekly Review

Fisher (The Light Before Day) explores what it means to seek forgiveness and make amends in this wholesome Amish novel. Luke Schrock has been exiled from the Amish community of Stoney Ridge, Pa., for a year, as he has been in and out of rehab three times. But this time, Luke's bishop arranges for him to return to live at Windmill Farm, the home of Amos and Fern Lapp, who have a soft spot for wayward children and teens. The Lapps also provide for Izzy Miller, a young woman Luke knew in rehab who now wants little to do with him. As part of his agreement with the bishop, Luke must seek out those he hurt over the years, apologize, and come to understand how his actions impacted their lives. Luke soon realizes that "fencemending was going to take some work," and that his actions had consequences far greater than he imagined. Meanwhile, he continues to seek Izzy's friendship at home, with her ultimately agreeing to be his friend if he can help to find her longlost mother. Wanting to help Izzy find closure in her past, he agrees to help. Fisher gently unpacks the challenge that making peace with others (and God) brings after a fall from grace. (Feb.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
Every saint has a past. Every sinner has a future.<br> <br>Luke Schrock is a new and improved man after a stint in rehab, though everyone in Stoney Ridge only remembers the old Luke. They might have forgiven him, but nobody trusts him. <p>Amos and Fern Lapp allow Luke to live at Windmill Farm under two conditions. First, Luke must make a sincere apology to each person he's hurt--a four-page, single-spaced list. Second, he must ask each victim of mischief to describe the damage he caused. <p>Simple, Luke thinks. Offering apologies is easy. But discovering the lasting effects his careless actions have caused . . . that isn't so simple. It's gut-wrenching. <p>And his list keeps growing. Izzy Miller, beautiful and frustratingly aloof, also boards at Windmill Farm. Luke's clumsy efforts to befriend Izzy only insult and annoy her. Eager to impress, Luke sets out to prove himself to her by locating her mother. When he does, her identity sends shock waves through Stoney Ridge. <p>Bestselling and award-winning author Suzanne Woods Fisher returns to her beloved Stoney Ridge for this brand-new series featuring some of her readers' favorite characters.
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1