Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
Murders and metaphors : a magical bookshop mystery
2019
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Availability' section below.
Availability
Author Notes
Amanda Flower , a USA Today bestselling and Agatha Award-winning mystery author, started her writing career in elementary school when she read a story she wrote to her sixth grade class and had the class in stitches with her description of being stuck on the top of a Ferris wheel. She knew at that moment she'd found her calling of making people laugh with her words. She also writes mysteries as USA Today bestselling author Isabella Alan. In addition to being an author, Amanda is a librarian in Northeast Ohio. This is her third Magical Bookshop mystery.
Fiction/Biography Profile
Characters
Violet Waverly (Female), Works at her grandmother's book shop; tries to prove her friend's innocence after being arrested for murder
Genre
Fiction
Mystery
Topics
False accusations
Search for truth
Murder investigations
Booksellers
Setting
New York - Mid-Atlantic States (U.S.)
Time Period
2000s -- 21st century
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  Publishers Weekly Review

Flower graduates to hardcover with her charming third Magical Bookshop mystery (after 2016's Prose and Cons). Violet Waverly, proprietor of Charming Books in Cascade Springs, N.Y., is one of a roomful of witnesses when wine connoisseur Belinda Perkins storms off after her estranged sister Lacey Dupont's attempt at reconciliation during Belinda's return home for a wintertime book signing at Morton Wineries. Moments later, Violet finds Belinda stabbed to death with one of the knives used for the night's planned cutting of the ice wine grapes. Even though Lacey's presence makes her immediately suspect, Violet learns all three Perkins siblings had motives for offing Belinda. The bookstore's magical essence keeps feeding Violet clues, but making sense of them is complicated and time-consuming. Violet's budding love interest, police chief David Rainwater, doesn't want to see her in danger, but she realizes that their romance is doomed unless she's ready to trust him with her family's secrets concerning the bookshop and the mystic powers of the spring waters. Cozy fans will be well satisfied. Agent: Nicole Resciniti, Seymour Agency. (Feb.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
Summary
USA Today bestselling author Amanda Flower is back with the third in her more-charming-than-ever Magical Bookshop mystery. Fans of Sofie Kelly and Heather Blake, prepare your bookshelves!<br> <br> Niagara region booksellers Violet Waverly and Grandma Daisy sleuth the slaying of a sommelier whose book signing turned into her sayonara. <br> <br> January means ice wine season in the Niagara Falls region, but the festivities leave Charming Books owner Violet Waverly cold, still reeling from a past heartbreak. A past heartbreak who will be present at the annual midnight grape-harvest festival, and no magic in the world or incantation powerful enough could get Violet to attend. But Grandma Daisy, an omniscient force all on her own, informs Violet that she's already arranged for the mystical Charming Books to host celebrity sommelier Belinda Perkins's book signing at the party. Little do either Waverly women know, the ice wine festival will turn colder still when Violet finds Belinda in the middle of the frozen vineyard--with a grape harvest knife protruding from her chest.<br> <br> Belinda grew up in Cascade Springs, but she left town years ago after a huge falling-out with her three sisters. One of those sisters, Violet's high school friend Lacey Dupont, attends the book signing in the hope of making amends with her sister, but Belinda and Lacey end up disrupting the signing with a very public shouting match and Lacey quickly becomes the prime suspect in the sommelier's murder.<br> <br> Violet is sure Lacey is innocent, and to keep her friend out of prison, Violet asks for guidance from her magical bookshop. The shop's ethereal essence points her to Louisa May Alcott's Little Women , but what have the four March sisters to do with the four Perkins sisters? If she can't figure it out, Violet, herself, may turn as cold as ice. Violet, Grandma Daisy, Emerson the tuxedo cat, and resident crow Faulkner are back on the case in Murders and Metaphors , USA Today bestselling author Amanda Flower's enchanting third Magical Bookshop mystery.
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1