Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
Field of bones
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Availability' section below.
Author Notes
Judith Ann (J. A.) Jance was born in Watertown, South Dakota on October 27, 1944. She received a degree in English and secondary education in 1966 and a M. Ed. in library science in 1970 from the University of Arizona. Before becoming an author, she taught high school English, worked as a school librarian on a Native American reservation, and sold insurance. <p> She is the author of many popular mystery series including the J. P. Beaumont Mystery series, Joanna Brady Mystery series, and the Ali Reynolds series. She won the American Mystery Award for Without Due Process in 1992 and for Failure to Appear in 1993. Both of these titles are books in the J. P. Beaumont Mystery series. In 2014, her fiction book, A Last Goodbye, made the New York Times bestseller list. <p> Random Acts, a title in A Joanna Brady and Ali Reynolds Novella Series, made the New York Times bestseller list in 2016. <p> (Bowker Author Biography)
Fiction/Biography Profile
Joanna Brady (Female), Sheriff, Married, Mother, Pregnant, Returns early from maternity leave to oversee complex investigation of serial homicide case
Serial killings
Murder investigations
Arizona - Southwest (U.S.) / West (U.S.)
Time Period
2000s -- 21st century
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  Publishers Weekly Review

A serial killer investigation disrupts Joanna Brady's maternity leave in bestseller Jance's exciting 18th novel featuring the Cochise County, Ariz., sheriff (after 2016's Downfall). Acting sheriff Tom Hadlock is on duty when June Carver brings in her son, Jack, with a skull that the high school senior found in the remote San Bernardino Valley. Evidence at the scene suggests that a serial killer has been using it as a dump site. Readers know from the first chapter that a man known only as the Boss has been keeping his victims prisoner, torturing them, and disposing of their bodies in the desert. Hadlock puts every available officer on the case, while Joanna offers advice and secures an FBI profiler willing to help. Jance ratchets up the tension by switching between the Boss's depredations and the police's efforts to identify him and rescue his prisoners. The birth of Joanna's daughter, Sage, and other developments in her personal life will enthrall established fans. This long-running series shows no signs of losing steam. Agent: Alice Volpe, Northwest Literary Agency. (Sept.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
<p>Sheriff Joanna Brady's best intentions to stay on maternity leave take a hit when a serial homicide case rocks Cochise County, dragging her into a far-reaching investigation to bring down a relentless killer in this chilling tale of suspense from New York Times bestselling author J. A. Jance.</p> <p>This time Sheriff Joanna Brady may expect to see her maternity leave through to completion, but the world has other plans when a serial homicide case surfaces in her beloved Cochise County. Rather than staying home with her newborn and losing herself in the cold cases to be found in her father's long unread diaries, Joanna instead finds herself overseeing a complex investigation involving multiple jurisdictions.</p> <p>Filled with the beloved characters, small town charm, vivid history, intriguing mystery, and the scenic Arizona desert backdrop that have made the Joanna Brady series perennial bestsellers, this latest entry featuring the popular sheriff is sure to please J. A. Jance's legion of fans.</p>
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1